122 posts

Winter rules and Night Paddling

Winter Paddling  – Winter rules come into effect on October 15th Winter rules are in effect from October 15th to April 15th. ALL PADDLERS MUST WEAR PFDs during bothdaylight and evening hours. Paddlers venturing West of the Burrard Street Bridge must stay within 50 m of shore at all times. There is no paddling when the temperature is below 0’C (including wind-chill) or when there is ice on Alder Bay. Personal risks of slips and falls because of ice on ramps and docks, risks of damage to equipment due to ice sheets on roadways, walkways, and ramps, and equipment damage because of extended […]

New mandatory club boat sign out/in procedure

Club Huki OC1s are once again available to qualified club members As of Wednesday, September 26th, the new Huki OC1s will once again be available to FCRCC club members, who have completed their formal orientation.  New mandatory sign out/in procedure for use of club boats As part of the re-introduction of the Hukis, we are commencing a sign out/in system for all our Alder Bay club boats.  This sign out/in is required for the hukis, surfriggers, c-lions, v1 and marathon canoes.  While we recognize that damage to boats will happen, we are concerned with the frequency of such damage and […]

FCRCC Spring Knockout – May 4, 2019

The FCRCC 200m Knockout will be held on Saturday, May 4, 2019 (Qualifying event for those teams wishing to go to the National Championships) This popular Knockout event sells out each year where teams will race two 200 meter heats to qualify into one of several similar-times “Knockout Divisions”, and then a 200 meter semi-final to determine placement & ranking in a Knockout Division. Each Division’s final will be a Knockout series of 200 meter races. All teams will be in the first final race; the bottom team(s) in that first final race will be knocked out. The survivors will […]

FCRCC Annual General meeting – election of Executive for 2019

Invitation to All False Creek Racing Canoe Club Members To Participate on the FCRCC Executive Board FCRCC elects its Executive Board Members for the following term at its AGM.   We are encouraging all members to participate in the AGM and to put their names forward for election to the Board. The AGM will be held at the False Creek Community Centre at 6:00 PM on October 19, 2018. Descriptions of the Board positions are outlined on the FCRCC website. Board members have three principal roles: To participate in collective monthly Board meetings and provide strategic direction, decision-making and executive […]

FCRCC – Annual General Meeting

Save the date for the FCRCC Annual General meeting When:  Friday, October 19, 2018 Where:  False Creek Community Centre – Lind Hall Time:  6pm to 9 pm The FCRCC Annual General meeting will take place on October 19th.  This year we will be presenting our new Bylaws for review and acceptance.  Among other items, we will be voting on club fees as well as electing the 2019 Executive.  Plan to attend.

New Huki orientations sign up

FCRCC Huki Orientation We hope to have the new Hukis in service very soon.  In the meantime, those of you that have not done your formal orientation can sign up for an orientation.  Only members who have taken a formal orientation and have signed the membership list provided at the orientation will be able to use the boats when they are in service.  Jackie has added 3 dates for Huki Orientation.  Here is the link

This September – Fall into Outrigger with FCRCC Outrigger Introduction Days!!

Fall into Outrigger with FCRCC’s Outrigger Intro Days Each session will comprise two 3 hour practices aimed at dragon boaters, flatwater paddlers and canoers wanting to expand their paddling repertoire.  Experienced outrigger paddlers and coaches will take you through outrigger paddling technique, on water practices, canoe handling and care, and introduce you to Hawaiian culture.  Come down and give it a try.  Mahalo! Location: FCRCC’s Burrard Compound Dates:  September Program: Sundays, September 23 & 30 Time:  1:00 pm – 4:00 pm Cost: $60 plus GST Registration: